View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release June 17, 1994

President Clinton today appointed nine members to the United States Holocaust Memorial Council. The council was established in 1979 to provide for the annual commemoration of the Days of Remembrance and to construct and operate a permanent living memorial museum to the victims of the Holocaust. The Holocaust Memorial Museum was dedicated on April 22, 1993.

Brief bios on the members appointed today follow:

BENJAMIN MEED of New York Mr. Meed is a Principal founder and President of the American Gathering of Jewish Holocaust Survivors. He is also a founding member of United States Holocaust Survivors and the United States Holocaust Memorial Council. He was born in Warsaw, Poland, worked as a slave laborer for Germans outside the Ghetto during World War II and was an active member in the Warsaw Underground.

JOHN T. PAWLIKOWSKI of Illinois Mr. Pawlikowski is a Servite Priest and Professor of Social Ethics at the Catholic Theological Union, a constituent school of the Chicago Cluster of Theological Schools at the University of Chicago. He is a founding member of the Holocaust Memorial Museum and chairman of its Church Relations Committee.

DEBORAH E. LIPSTADT of Georgia Ms. Lipstadt is a Professor of Modern Jewish and Holocaust Studies at Emory University and the author of Denying the Holocaust: The Growing Assault on Truth and Memory and Beyond Belief: The American Press and the Coming of the Holocaust. She is also an historical consultant to the Holocaust Memorial Museum, where she participated in designing the section of the Museum dedicated to the American response to the Holocaust.

DAVID BERGER of Pennsylvania Mr. Berger is a senior partner in the law firm of Berger & Montague. He is a also a strong supporter of the Holocaust Memorial Museum.

GARY A. BARRON of Florida Mr. Barron is Director of Corporate Affairs and Executive Assistant to the Chairman of Vitas Healthcare Corporation. He was Executive Director of Vote Now '92, which issued grants to non-partisan voter registration and Get-Out-The-Vote (GOTV) groups during the 1992 campaign.

MENACHEM Z. ROSENSAFT of New York Mr. Rosensaft is Vice President and Senior Associate Counsel for Chase Manhattan Bank.

ABIGAIL S. WEXNER of Ohio Ms. Wexner serves on the Board of Directors of the Children's Defense Fund, the Governing Committee of the Columbus Foundation, and the Board of Trustees of Columbus Children's Hospital. She was formerly an attorney with Davis, Polk & Wardwell. She and her husband Les Wexner, Chairman and CEO of the Limited, have been very involved in Jewish affairs, as well as founding the Wexner Heritage Foundation.

ARTHUR L. SCHECHTER of Texas Mr. Schechter is an attorney with Schechter & Associates. He is also President of the American Jewish Committee, Chairman of "Operation Exodus II," a program to raise $1 billion for the resettlement of Soviet Jews and a member of the Executive Committee of the Southwest Region Anti-Defamation League.

LAWRENCE M. SMALL of the District of Columbia Mr. Small is President and Chief Operating Officer of Fannie Mae (Federal National Mortgage Association). He is also a member of the Board and the Treasurer for Morehouse College and a director of Paramount Communications Inc. and the Chubb Corporation He has been leading the corporate fundraising effort for the Council on a volunteer basis.