View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release March 31, 1994
                         A MAJOR DISASTER AREA

        The President today declared the State of Georgia a major

disaster and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the wake of the tornadoes, flooding and severe storms that occurred on March 27, 1994.

The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected individuals and local governments in a six county area. The counties include Bartow, Floyd, Habersham, Lumpkin, Pickens and White.

Assistance can include disaster housing, grants and low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding also is available to eligible local governments on a cost sharing basis for the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the tornadoes, flooding and severe storms.

James L. Witt, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), named J. Rolando Sarabia of FEMA's regional office in Atlanta, Georgia to coordinate Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

Damage surveys are continuing in other areas and additional counties may be added after the assessments are completed.