View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release March 23, 1994
                         6 MEMBERS TO SALLIE MAE

     President today announced the appointment of William Arceneaux as

the Chairman of the Student Loan Marketing Association (Sallie Mae). In addition, he announced his intent to appoint Mitchell Berger, Kris Durmer, Diane Gilleland, Regina Montoya, James Moore, Irene Natividad and Ronald Thayer as members of the Association.

The Student Loan Marketing Association is a government-sponsored, federally-chartered and privately owned enterprise with its principal offices in Washington, D.C. The corporation ensures the orderly flow of education credit through the Federal Family Education Loan Program, the guaranteed student loan program of the federal government. Sallie Mae is a $47 billion corporation with common stock of the corporation listed on the New York Stock Exchange. Sallie Mae has a stand-alone AAA rating by Standard and Poors.

WILLIAM ARCENEAUX of Louisiana - Chair Mr. Arceneaux is President of the Louisiana Association of Independent Colleges and Universities and has been a member of the Board of Sallie Mae since 1979.

REGINA MONTOYA of Texas - Ms. Montoya is a Vice President of Westcott Communications, Inc. She is also the former Director of the White House Office of Intergovernmental Relations.

MITCHELL BERGER of Florida - Mr. Berger is an attorney with the firm of Berger and Shapiro, where he specializes in environmental law. He is a Managing Trustee of the Democratic National Committee, a Member of the Florida Environmental Regulation Commission, a Member of the Broward County Management Review Commission, and a member of the Board of Governors of the Nova University School of Management and Business.

KRIS DURMER of New Hampshire - Mr. Durmer, an attorney, is a Commissioner of the Nashua Housing Authority, and President of the Greater Nashua Housing and Development Foundation. He served as Chairman of the Nashua, NH, Clinton for President primary campaign, the Clinton/Gore general election campaign, and was NH Legal Counsel to the 1988 Gore Presidential campaign.

DIANE SUITT GILLELAND of Arkansas - Ms. Gilleland is Director of the Arkansas Department of Higher Education, where she directs over $375,000,000 in state appropriations for the operation of Arkansas' institutions of higher education and the University of Arkansas Hospital.

JAMES MOORE of New Jersey - Mr. Moore is Senior Vice President of the Financial Services Division for the Continental Grain Company; President and C.E.O. of the ContiFinancial Services Corporation and the ContiMortgage Corporation; and, Managing Director of the ContiTrade Services Corporation. He is also a Trustee of the Democratic National Committee and a 1968 graduate of the Georgetown University School of Foreign Service.

IRENE NATIVIDAD of Virginia - Ms. Natividad is the Principal in the firm of Natividad and Associates, a Washington, DC, public affairs firm, and the Chair of the National Commission on Working Women. She previously served as Chair of the National Women's Political Caucus and as Director of Continuing Education for William Paterson College. In addition, Ms. Natividad served as Co-Chair of the Women of Color for Change Committee for Clinton/Gore.

RONALD J. THAYER of Michigan - Mr. Thayer serves as Department Executive in the Office of Economic Development for Wayne County, Michigan. He has served as Executive Secretary to Governor Jim Blanchard and as Alumni Fund Director for the University of Detroit.