View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release March 3, 1994


The President today declared a major disaster in Alabama and ordered federal funds be released to help communities in that state recover from winter storms, which began January 16 and continued through February 14, 1994. Alabama is the fifth Southern state in the past month declared eligible by the President for federal clean-up funds. Earlier, the President approved assistance for Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee.

"My heart goes out to the people of the South who have suffered from these recent storms," the President said. "I know how difficult this winter has been and I am confident that FEMA Director James Lee Witt will do all he can to assist the people of Alabama, and those throughout the rest of the South, to recover from these damaging storms."

In Alabama, the recent storms led to flooding, damaged roads, and power outages. The President's action today makes federal funding available to affected local governments in nine Alabama counties. The counties, located in the northern section of the state, include Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Franklin, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Marshall and Winston.

Federal funding is available to eligible local governments on a cost sharing basis for regular repair or replacement of public facilities damaged by the severe winter storms, freezing and flooding.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is continuing to conduct damage surveys in other areas of Alabama. Additional counties may be added after the assessments are complete.