View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release February 1, 1994

Statement by the Press Secretary

President Clinton today announced the delegation to the 1994 Winter Olympic Games in Lillehammer, Norway. The delegation will be lead by First Lady Hillary Rodham Clinton.

The United States Delegation will be:

First Lady Hillary Rodham Clinton - Delegation Chair.

Ambassador Thomas Loftus - United States Ambassador to Norway.

Florence Griffith Joyner - Co-Chair of the President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports. Ms. Joyner is a 1984 and 1988 Olympic Medalist. Mission Viejo, California.

Kathy Karpan - Secretary of State of Wyoming.

David Matthews - Partner in the Arkansas law Firm of Matthews, Campbell and Rhoads. Rogers, Arkansas.

Tom McMillen - Co-Chair of the President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports. Mr. McMillen was a member of the United States House of Representatives from 1987 - 1993. He was three time All-American in basketball and a member of the 1972 U.S. Olympic Team. Crofton, MD.

Irby Clifford Simpkins, Jr. - Publisher of the Nashville Banner. Nashville, Tennessee.

Dawn Steel - Head of Steel Pictures, Inc., a film development and production company. Los Angeles, California.

The United States Delegation is expected to depart for Norway on February 11 and return on February 14. The delegation will attend the opening ceremonies on Saturday, February 12 and a number of Olympic events prior to their return.

Information regarding the delegations schedule will be released from the First Lady's press office when it becomes available.