View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release July 14, 1993

PRESIDENT CLINTON DECLARES 87 IOWA COUNTIES AS DISASTER AREAS Residents, Business Owners Eligible for Federal Disaster Aid

WASHINGTON -- President Clinton announced today (7/14) that he has added 87 more counties in the State of Iowa to the Presidential major disaster declaration of July 9, 1993, allowing flood victims to be eligible for federal assistance.

The counties are: Lyon, Osceola, Emmet, Kossuth, Winnebago, Worth, Mitchell, Howard, Winneshiek, Allamakee, Fayette, Chickasaw, Floyd, Cerro Gordo, Hancock, Palo Alto, Clay, O'Brien, Sioux, Plymouth, Cherokee, Buena Vista, Pocahontas, Wright, Franklin, Butler, Bremer, Dubuque, Delaware, Buchanan, Black Hawk, Grundy, Hardin, Hamilton, Webster, Calhoun, Sac, Ida, Woodbury, Monona, Crawford, Carroll, Greene, Boone, Story, Marshall, Tama, Benton, Linn, Jones, Cedar, Iowa, Poweshiek, Jasper, Dallas, Guthrie, Audubon, Shelby, Harrison, Pottawattamie, Cass, Adair, Madison, Warren, Marion, Mahaska, Keokuk, Washington, Henry, Jefferson, Monroe, Lucas, Clarke, Union, Adams, Montgomery, Mills, Fremont, Page, Taylor, Ringgold, Decatur, Wayne, Appanoosa, Davis, Van Buren, and Lee.

The additions bring to 99 the number of counties in Iowa that are eligible for federal assistance to affected residents and businesses. Previously designated counties included Clayton, Clinton, Des Moines, Dickinson, Humboldt, Jackson, Johnson, Louisa, Muscatine, Polk, Scott, and Wapello.

Residents, business owners and farmers who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance immediately by calling 1-800-462-9029 or for the hearing and speech impaired 1-800-462-7685 (TDD).

President Clinton is traveling to Iowa today (7/14) to survey the flood damage and talk with local residents and officials about the federal response plan. He promises that assistance to victims will be provided quickly, efficiently and with compassion.