View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release April 12, 1993


(Washington, DC) The President announced his intention today to nominate four experts on energy regulation -- Bill Massey, Donald Santa, James Hoecker, and Vicky Bailey -- to be Commissioners of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. He also announced his intention to designate Elizabeth Anne "Betsy" Moler as the Commissions Chair, a position she has held on an interim basis since February.

"I have called for a sensible, comprehensive energy policy that serves our future energy needs, protects our precious environment, and helps to build a growing economy," said the President. "This experienced and talented group of Commissioners will help to meet those goals."

Massey is being nominated to fill the unexpired portion of Martin Allday's term, which ends October 20, 1993, and then a new five year term ending June 30, 1998. Santa's term will expire June 30, 1997, and was previously held by Charles Trabandt. Bailey's term will expire June 30, 1996. The incumbent was Jerry Langdon. Hoecker's term will expire June 30, 1995. The incumbent is Branko Terzic. Moler's term will expire on June 30, 1994.

Betsy Moler has been serving as Chair of FERC since February, and has been a member of the Commission since 1988. Before joining the Commission, she was senior counsel to the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee. She joined the Committee staff in 1976 and worked for the late Senator Henry Jackson and for current Chairman Bennett Johnston. Moler received her B.A. from the American University School of International Service, and her J.D. from the National Law Center at George Washington University.


April 12, 1993
page two

Bill Massey, who served on the Clinton/Gore Transition Team for the Energy Department, is a partner in the law firm of Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, with a practice focusing primarily in energy and environmental practice. He was previously Chief Counsel and Legislative Director on the staff of Senator Dale Bumpers. He has also been Law Clerk to U.S. Circuit Judge Richard S. Arnold, Chief Attorney and Director of Central Arkansas Legal Services, and Instructor at the University of Arkansas at Little School of Law. He holds a B.A. from Oachita Baptist University, J.D. from the University of Arkansas, and Master of Laws degree from the Georgetown University Law Center.

Donald Santa has been Counsel to the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources since 1989. He was previously an attorney with the firm of Van Ness, Feldman, Sutcliffe & Curtis, and with Andrews & Kurth. Santa is a graduate of Duke University and of the Columbia University School of Law.

James Hoecker who served as an attorney with FERC from 1979- 1988, is currently Of Counsel to the law firm of Jones, Day, Reavis & Pogue. During his previous tenure at FERC he served as an Attorney Advisor in the Office of General Counsel, Legal Advisor to Commissioners Matthew Holden and Georgianna Sheldon, Assistant Counsel for Rulemaking and Legislative Analysis, and Assistant General Counsel for Gas & Oil Litigation. He began his legal career as an Attorney with the Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance. Hoecker holds a B.A. from Northland College in Ashland, WI, M.A. and Ph.D. in History from the University of Kentucky, and J.D. from the University of Wisconsin.

Vicky Bailey is a Commissioner of the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission, and serves on the Executive Committee of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners. She was previously Vice President for Administration of the J. Bailey Company, Assistant Admissions Officer at the Indiana University School of Medicine, and Promotions Director of the Owens-Illinois, Inc. Glass Container Division. Bailey also serves on the Mid-America Regulatory Conference, the Great Lakes Conference of Public Utility Commissioners, and the Indiana Council for Economic Education. She is a graduate of Purdue University.