View Header


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release April 2,1993

WASHINGTON, April 2 /U.S. Newswire/ -- President Clinton today declared major disasters exist in both the state of New York -- following the Feb. 26 bombing of the World Trade Center -- and in Nebraska as a result of severe March flooding and ice jams. The disaster declarations allow the Federal Emergency Management Agency to provide public assistance grants to affected municipalities in the two states.

In Nebraska, 11 counties will be eligible for assistance -- following heavy flooding (March 7-21) that killed two people and injured 11. Counties approved for assistance are: Boyd, Butler, Colfax, Cuming, Dodge, Merrick, Platte, Sarpy, Saunders, Seward and Stanton.

The President's declaration in New York City allows FEMA to provide public assistance reimbursement for emergency protective measures employed in the aftermath of the Feb. 26 World Trade Center bombing. The bombing left six people dead and more than 1,000 injured.
/U.S. Newswire 202-347-2770/